Plant / Light / Fountain Project COMPLETE!

After two months of design, pricing, building, problem solving, taking apart, building again … IT’S DONE!  And so far, it’s working!

The Plant Light Fountain Project was born in a hydroponics course I took for fun at the Santa Fe Community College (thanks Adam!).  The college has a great program – visit their Facebook page here Controlled Environmental Agriculture at SFCC.  We had to design a hydroponic or aquaponic system.  Since I intended to build and use the system I designed in the class, I had to design around several factors:

  • the system needed to be realistic for me to build with the few tools I own
  • the component parts needed to be relatively inexpensive and locally sourced
  • the system needed to be compact and vertical to fit into the room where I want it
  • the system needed to be appropriate for a variety of small plants
  • I wanted the design to be multifunctional and act as an area light and fountain too
  • I wanted the design to be aesthetically pleasing

Since most hydroponic systems are built from white PVC and plastic equipment, I knew I would have to come up with something different to meet my needs.

During this time, our city stopped curbside pickup for glass recycling.  I realized I could help others recycle their glass bottles by taking them and incorporating them into my hydroponic system.

This process resulted in a tiered, continuously recirculating hydroponic system made out of upside-down cut wine bottles!

20170711_101447
Completed Plant Light Fountain (and cat)

Leave a comment